generator-for-home.com Size my home

Generator installation cost in Utah

In Utah, a whole house generator on natural gas rated at 22 kW has an installed price of about $10,869 through $15,369. Electricians here make $31.39 an hour, 9% under the US figure of $34.37. The electrician portion of the price runs $2,700 to $5,000 at that rate.

$10,869 to $15,36922 kW installed in Utah, natural gas
$2.38 / $6.2422 kW an hour at half load, gas / propane (EIA)
117 minwithout power per customer, 2025 (47th of 51, EIA)

Not sure 22 kW fits? Work out your house size in three questions.

Installed prices in Utah by generator size

Fuel at half load, with prices from Utah. A fuel table from Generac covers every model. The models at 18 kW, 24 kW and 26 kW have burn ratings no higher per hour than the next size down, which means fuel use doesn't increase in proportion to kW.

SizeNatural gas, installedGas at half loadPropane, installedPropane at half loadFuel figures
10 kW$8,119 to $12,619$1.18/h$8,319 to $13,119$2.39/hGenerac Guardian 10 kW
14 kW$9,449 to $13,949$2.28/h$9,649 to $14,449$4.46/hGenerac Guardian 14 kW
18 kW$10,269 to $14,769$1.98/h$10,469 to $15,269$4.19/hGenerac Guardian 18 kW
22 kW$10,869 to $15,369$2.38/h$11,069 to $15,869$6.24/hGenerac Guardian 22 kW
24 kW$11,289 to $15,789$2.37/h$11,489 to $16,289$6.24/hGenerac Guardian 24 kW
26 kW$11,719 to $16,219$2.20/h$11,919 to $16,719$5.08/hGenerac Guardian 26 kW

Parts of the 22 kW price in Utah

Wages here are $31.39 an hour, which ranks 34th of 51. At that rate, labor costs up to $500 below US average pay.

Line, 22 kWNatural gasPropaneBasis
Generator$6,309$6,309Generac's list price for the 22 kW bundle without the switch
Transfer switch$1,060$1,060Difference between Generac's prices with and without the switch
Electrician: switch, wiring, start-up$2,700 to $5,000$2,700 to $5,000published install ranges, matched to Utah's $31.39 hourly wage (BLS)
Fuel line$500 to $1,800$700 to $2,300The line begins at the meter for gas, and at the tank for propane.
Pad and permit$300 to $1,200$300 to $1,200composite pad or slab, local fees
Installed$10,869 to $15,369$11,069 to $15,869propane leaves out the tank

Fuel prices in Utah

FuelPrice22 kW an hourThree days
Natural gas$11.69 per 1,000 ft³$2.38$172
Propane$2.46 a gallon$6.24$449 (182 gal)

At half load, gas in Utah costs $2.38 an hour for a 22 kW, while propane costs $6.24. Here, residential gas is the 4th cheapest of 51.

Propane tankUsable at 80%22 kW at half loadFill at Utah price
250 gal200 gal79 h$493
500 gal400 gal158 h$986

See tank hours for each size.

Power outages in Utah

117 min2025, all events
177 minten-year average
98 min2025 without major storms

An average of 117 minutes of power loss hit Utah customers in 2025; the US figure of 269 is higher, and Utah ranks 47th highest of 51. That time includes 16% from major storms, and on ordinary days it was 98 minutes. The worst year among the past ten was 2020, with outages lasting 592 minutes. The ten-year average was 177 minutes, so the 2025 average was 60 minutes lower.

All years since 2016
YearMinutes out, all eventsRank of 51 statesWithout major storms
202511747th98
202411545th105
202312838th109
202210943rd97
202111343rd98
202059211th101
201914441st111
201811644th116
201714239th116
201619326th106

Utah utilities and their 2025 outages

UtilityCustomersMinutes outOutages eachMinutes per outage
PacifiCorp1,054,1361180.90131
Provo City Corp40,813530.6582
City of St George33,83122not reportednot reported
Dixie Escalante R E A, Inc31,630440.18243
Lehi City Corporation31,153420.4594

PacifiCorp customers lost power for 118 minutes in 2025, compared with 22 minutes for City of St George. By 5.4 to one, which company serves your street counts more than the 117 minute state figure. Across all utilities, the customer-weighted average was 0.45 outages per customer during the year. That's less than the US average of 1.35. PacifiCorp outages lasted an average of 131 minutes, or about 2.2 hours. A 22 kW generator running at half load would use $5.20 of gas during that time.

Major FEMA disasters in Utah since 2016

Altogether 5 major disasters were declared, the latest in October 2026: 3 floods, 1 severe storm and 1 earthquake, with COVID-19 left out. Given 3 flood declarations, set the generator pad higher than the local flood level, and the permit office can supply that level for the lot.

The counties named in most of them: Davis County (2), Salt Lake County (2), Morgan County (2).

DeclaredDisasterFEMA number
October 2026Cottonwood Fire, Flooding, and MudslidesDR-4948
December 2023FloodingDR-4752
January 2021Straight-Line WindsDR-4578
July 2020Earthquake and AftershocksDR-4548
April 2017Severe Winter Storms and FloodingDR-4311

Utah plus its neighbors

State22 kW on gas, installedWageMinutes out
Utah$10,869 to $15,369$31.39117
Arizona$10,769 to $15,269$30.8869
Colorado$10,969 to $15,569$31.88273
Idaho$10,969 to $15,569$32.02291
New Mexico$10,569 to $14,869$28.66162
Nevada$11,369 to $16,469$36.4128
Wyoming$11,269 to $16,469$35.99224

Neighbors installing for less: 2 of 6. Installation costs are lowest in New Mexico at $10,569 and highest in Nevada at $11,369. Idaho logged 291 minutes of outages in 2025, compared with 117 in Utah, and outages differ more than price.

Sources: EIA gas for March to August 2026, EIA propane for October 26, 2026, EIA outages, EIA-861, FEMA and BLS wages (May 2025). The figures cover All states.