Generator installation cost in South Dakota
In South Dakota, about $10,669 to $15,069 covers installing a whole house generator rated at 22 kW and running on natural gas. Electricians here make $29.8 hourly, 13% less than the US average of $34.37. Their rate sets the $2,600 to $4,800 electrician charge.
Not sure whether 22 kW fits? Use three questions to size your house.
Installed cost in South Dakota for each size
Using fuel at half load and prices in South Dakota. For each model, Generac provides a fuel table. Hourly fuel ratings for 18, 24 and 26 kW units don't exceed those for the next smaller model, so fuel use each hour doesn't rise in step with kW.
| Size | Natural gas, installed | Gas at half load | Propane, installed | Propane at half load | Fuel figures |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 kW | $7,919 to $12,319 | $1.42/h | $8,219 to $12,819 | $1.89/h | Generac Guardian 10 kW |
| 14 kW | $9,249 to $13,649 | $2.73/h | $9,549 to $14,149 | $3.53/h | Generac Guardian 14 kW |
| 18 kW | $10,069 to $14,469 | $2.37/h | $10,369 to $14,969 | $3.32/h | Generac Guardian 18 kW |
| 22 kW | $10,669 to $15,069 | $2.86/h | $10,969 to $15,569 | $4.94/h | Generac Guardian 22 kW |
| 24 kW | $11,089 to $15,489 | $2.85/h | $11,389 to $15,989 | $4.94/h | Generac Guardian 24 kW |
| 26 kW | $11,519 to $15,919 | $2.64/h | $11,819 to $16,419 | $4.02/h | Generac Guardian 26 kW |
What's included in the South Dakota price for 22 kW?
Labor at $29.8 hourly ranks 41st of 51, with costs up to $700 below US average pay.
| Line, 22 kW | Natural gas | Propane | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Generator | $6,309 | $6,309 | Generac's list price for the 22 kW package without the switch |
| Transfer switch | $1,060 | $1,060 | Difference between Generac's prices with and without the switch |
| Electrician: switch, wiring, start-up | $2,600 to $4,800 | $2,600 to $4,800 | published install ranges, set to the hourly South Dakota wage of $29.8 (BLS) |
| Fuel line | $400 to $1,700 | $700 to $2,200 | gas line running from the meter; propane line running from the tank |
| Pad and permit | $300 to $1,200 | $300 to $1,200 | composite pad or slab, local fees |
| Installed | $10,669 to $15,069 | $10,969 to $15,569 | propane leaves out the tank |
South Dakota fuel costs
| Fuel | Price | 22 kW an hour | Three days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Natural gas | $14.02 per 1,000 ft³ | $2.86 | $206 |
| Propane | $1.95 a gallon | $4.94 | $355 (182 gal) |
Natural gas costs less in South Dakota. At half load, a 22 kW generator uses $2.86 an hour, compared with $4.94 for propane. Here, residential gas is ranked 6th cheapest of 51.
| Propane tank | Usable at 80% | 22 kW at half load | Fill at South Dakota price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 250 gal | 200 gal | 79 h | $390 |
| 500 gal | 400 gal | 158 h | $780 |
Power outages in South Dakota
In 2025, South Dakota customers averaged 284 minutes without power. This exceeds the US figure of 269 and ranks 20th highest of 51. Major storms caused 78% of the outage time; ordinary days accounted for 64 minutes. Among the last ten years, 2022 was worst at 338 minutes. With a ten-year average of 175, 2025 ran 110 minutes above it.
Each year since 2016
| Year | Minutes out, all events | Rank of 51 states | Without major storms |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 284 | 20th | 64 |
| 2024 | 86 | 49th | 62 |
| 2023 | 78 | 49th | 64 |
| 2022 | 338 | 18th | 126 |
| 2021 | 101 | 47th | 62 |
| 2020 | 97 | 48th | 72 |
| 2019 | 311 | 13th | 108 |
| 2018 | 93 | 51st | 73 |
| 2017 | 102 | 47th | 80 |
| 2016 | 256 | 15th | 84 |
South Dakota utilities and their 2025 outages
| Utility | Customers | Minutes out | Outages each | Minutes per outage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - Minnesota | 107,525 | 160 | 0.88 | 182 |
| Black Hills Power, Inc. | 82,900 | 541 | 2.27 | 238 |
| NorthWestern Energy | 64,904 | 120 | 1.14 | 105 |
| Sioux Valley SW Elec Coop | 26,620 | 59 | 1.64 | 36 |
| Southeastern Electric Coop Inc | 24,550 | 24 | not reported | not reported |
During 2025, customers of Black Hills Power, Inc. lost power for 541 minutes, compared with 24 for Southeastern Electric Coop Inc. At 22.7 to one, your street's utility matters more than the state figure of 284 minutes. Across all utilities, customers averaged 1.33 power losses per year on a customer-weighted basis, below the US rate of 1.35. On Northern States Power Co - Minnesota lines, outages averaged 182 minutes, about 3.0 hours. That's equal to $8.67 in gas for a 22 kW unit at half load.
Major disasters declared by FEMA in South Dakota since 2016
South Dakota recorded 18 major disaster declarations: 9 for severe storms, 5 for floods, 3 for winter storms and 1 for a straight-line wind. The newest was in September 2026, excluding COVID-19. Winter storms, snow storms or ice storms make up 3, and with a cold-weather kit the engine keeps starting. Where there have been 5 flood declarations, place the generator pad higher than the local flood level. The permit office can provide that level for your lot.
The counties named most often are Day County (7), Jackson County (6), Aurora County (5), Bennett County (5), Clark County (5), Codington County (5), Deuel County (5) and Gregory County (5).
| Declared | Disaster | FEMA number |
|---|---|---|
| September 2026 | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, and Flooding | DR-4941 |
| September 2026 | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding | DR-4938 |
| April 2026 | Straight-Line Winds | DR-4903 |
| September 2025 | Severe Storm and Flooding | DR-4890 |
| November 2024 | Severe Storm, Straight-Line Winds, and Flooding | DR-4842 |
| August 2024 | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, and Flooding | DR-4807 |
South Dakota and the states that border it
| State | 22 kW on gas, installed | Wage | Minutes out |
|---|---|---|---|
| South Dakota | $10,669 to $15,069 | $29.8 | 284 |
| Iowa | $10,769 to $15,269 | $30.38 | 183 |
| Minnesota | $11,669 to $17,069 | $38.86 | 182 |
| Montana | $11,169 to $16,069 | $34.58 | 286 |
| North Dakota | $11,169 to $15,969 | $33.87 | 212 |
| Nebraska | $10,769 to $15,269 | $30.75 | 543 |
| Wyoming | $11,269 to $16,469 | $35.99 | 224 |
For this installation, South Dakota costs less than any of its neighbors. Minnesota starts $1,000 higher. Outage times show a bigger difference than prices. Nebraska recorded 543 minutes in 2025, compared with 284 minutes here.
Sources: wage figures from BLS (May 2025), EIA gas prices (March to August 2026), EIA propane prices (October 26, 2026), EIA outage records, EIA-861, FEMA. Data for all states.