Generator installation cost in Alabama
About $10,469 to $14,569 covers installation of a 22 kW whole house generator using natural gas in Alabama. Local electricians earn $27.65 an hour, 20% under the US average, $34.37. That wage decides how much the electrician line of the price comes to, from $2,400 up to $4,400.
Wondering if 22 kW fits? Three questions to size your house.
Installed cost by size in Alabama
Alabama prices, with fuel at half load. Every model has a Generac fuel table. For 18 kW, 24 kW and 26 kW units, the listed hourly use is no greater than that of the next smaller model, meaning fuel use doesn't increase directly with kW.
| Size | Natural gas, installed | Gas at half load | Propane, installed | Propane at half load | Fuel figures |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 kW | $7,719 to $11,819 | $2.28/h | $7,919 to $12,219 | $3.52/h | Generac Guardian 10 kW |
| 14 kW | $9,049 to $13,149 | $4.41/h | $9,249 to $13,549 | $6.57/h | Generac Guardian 14 kW |
| 18 kW | $9,869 to $13,969 | $3.82/h | $10,069 to $14,369 | $6.17/h | Generac Guardian 18 kW |
| 22 kW | $10,469 to $14,569 | $4.61/h | $10,669 to $14,969 | $9.18/h | Generac Guardian 22 kW |
| 24 kW | $10,889 to $14,989 | $4.59/h | $11,089 to $15,389 | $9.18/h | Generac Guardian 24 kW |
| 26 kW | $11,319 to $15,419 | $4.25/h | $11,519 to $15,819 | $7.48/h | Generac Guardian 26 kW |
What makes up the Alabama 22 kW price
Electricians earn $27.65 an hour, ranking 49th of 51 and among the lowest rates. Their labor can cost as much as $1,100 below the amount paid at the US average wage.
| Line, 22 kW | Natural gas | Propane | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Generator | $6,309 | $6,309 | Generac's list price for the 22 kW bundle, minus the switch |
| Transfer switch | $1,060 | $1,060 | Generac's listing gap with the switch versus without it |
| Electrician: switch, wiring, start-up | $2,400 to $4,400 | $2,400 to $4,400 | the published install ranges, set to the $27.65 an hour Alabama wage (BLS) |
| Fuel line | $400 to $1,600 | $600 to $2,000 | gas line running from the meter; propane line running from the tank |
| Pad and permit | $300 to $1,200 | $300 to $1,200 | composite pad or slab, local fees |
| Installed | $10,469 to $14,569 | $10,669 to $14,969 | propane leaves out the tank |
What fuel costs in Alabama
| Fuel | Price | 22 kW an hour | Three days |
|---|---|---|---|
| Natural gas | $22.59 per 1,000 ft³ | $4.61 | $332 |
| Propane | $3.63 a gallon | $9.18 | $661 (182 gal) |
Gas costs less in Alabama: at half load, a 22 kW unit costs $4.61 an hour compared with $9.18 on propane. The price of residential gas here places it 31st cheapest among 51.
| Propane tank | Usable at 80% | 22 kW at half load | Fill at Alabama price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 250 gal | 200 gal | 79 h | $726 |
| 500 gal | 400 gal | 158 h | $1,452 |
Power outages in Alabama
In 2025, Alabama customers averaged 270 minutes without power. That was near the US figure of 269 and ranked 23rd highest of 51. Major storms caused 53% of it; on ordinary days, outages lasted 127 minutes. During the past ten years, 2020 had the longest outages at 3,320 minutes. Since the ten-year average is 565, 2025 came in 295 minutes below it.
Each year since 2016
| Year | Minutes out, all events | Rank of 51 states | Without major storms |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 270 | 23rd | 127 |
| 2024 | 198 | 37th | 121 |
| 2023 | 400 | 15th | 190 |
| 2022 | 231 | 26th | 198 |
| 2021 | 176 | 32nd | 111 |
| 2020 | 3,320 | 2nd | 145 |
| 2019 | 184 | 33rd | 107 |
| 2018 | 458 | 12th | 137 |
| 2017 | 242 | 27th | 131 |
| 2016 | 174 | 30th | 140 |
Alabama utilities and their 2025 outages
| Utility | Customers | Minutes out | Outages each | Minutes per outage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Power Co | 1,526,528 | 410 | 2.06 | 199 |
| Baldwin County El Member Corp | 92,539 | 46 | 1.50 | 31 |
| Foley Board of Utilities | 59,442 | 70 | 1.07 | 66 |
| Cullman Electric Coop, Inc | 48,573 | 780 | 3.39 | 230 |
| Central Alabama Electric Coop | 47,827 | 469 | not reported | not reported |
Customers of Cullman Electric Coop, Inc lost power for 780 minutes in 2025, compared with 46 minutes for Baldwin County El Member Corp. At a 17.0 to one ratio, the provider serving your street has more effect than the 270 minute state average. Across all utilities, customer-weighted, customers averaged 1.92 power losses during the year. That rate was higher than the US figure of 1.35. An outage on Alabama Power Co's lines lasted 199 minutes on average, roughly 3.3 hours, which comes to $15.30 of gas at half load with a 22 kW set.
Major FEMA disasters in Alabama since 2016
Alabama had 15 major disaster declarations overall: 1 tornado, 4 hurricanes and 10 severe storms. The latest was declared in May 2023, while COVID-19 was excluded. Tropical or coastal storms accounted for 4 of the 15. The latest was Hurricane Zeta in December 2020, and those outages run for days.
The counties named most often: Mobile County (5), Autauga County (4), Barbour County (4), Blount County (4), Butler County (4), Chambers County (4), Colbert County (4) and Coosa County (4).
| Declared | Disaster | FEMA number |
|---|---|---|
| May 2023 | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, and Tornadoes | DR-4710 |
| January 2023 | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, and Tornadoes | DR-4684 |
| December 2021 | Severe Storms and Flooding | DR-4632 |
| April 2021 | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, and Tornadoes | DR-4596 |
| December 2020 | Hurricane Zeta | DR-4573 |
| September 2020 | Hurricane Sally | DR-4563 |
Alabama and nearby states
| State | 22 kW on gas, installed | Wage | Minutes out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | $10,469 to $14,569 | $27.65 | 270 |
| Florida | $10,469 to $14,569 | $27.72 | 73 |
| Georgia | $10,669 to $14,969 | $29.37 | 269 |
| Mississippi | $10,469 to $14,669 | $27.88 | 524 |
| Tennessee | $10,769 to $15,269 | $30.55 | 228 |
Not one neighbor installs cheaper than Alabama does; Florida and Mississippi come in at the same price, and Tennessee starts $300 higher. Mississippi had 524 minutes of outages in 2025, while this state had 270, so outages differ more than price.
Data come from EIA outages, EIA-861, FEMA, EIA propane (October 26, 2026), EIA gas (March to August 2026), and BLS wages (May 2025). These figures cover all states.